1889 Foundation supports Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioners Conference; scholarship now available

2018-08-20T09:50:26-04:00August 20th, 2018|News|

1889 Foundation recognizes that the need for nurse practitioners is growing in primary and specialty care, and supports education and training for these vital healthcare workers.

Nurse practitioners are registered nurses who have earned at least a master’s degree and are qualified to treat patients on their own. They provide primary, acute and specialty care to a wide variety of patient populations, and can diagnose illness, treat conditions, and prescribe medication.

“Nurse practitioners are very important to a community in helping to supplement medical care, especially in underserved areas like Cambria and Somerset Counties,” said Dr. Donald Ratchford, whose Cresson-based family practice includes nurse practitioners.

On April 20, 2018, the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioners Conference was held at Penn Highlands Community College (as pictured above). 1889 Foundation was proud to support this educational event, which allowed nurse practitioners to earn continuing educational credits to maintain their certifications.

“The conference was a great day of collaboration between the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association and 1889 Foundation,” said Kim Garman, president of the association. “Nurse practitioners are well-suited to meet the need of underserved, rural populations, and this conference is vitally important to our profession in this region.”

1889 Foundation holds the Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship Fund, which was established in 2006 by the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association in memory of Marge, one of the area’s first nurse practitioners. Registered nurses in Bedford, Cambria, Indiana or Somerset Counties who are working toward certification as nurse practitioners can apply for scholarship funding. You must be a student member of the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioners Association to apply.

Guidelines and an application for this year’s Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship can be downloaded here, and the deadline to apply is October 31, 2018. The award winner will be notified in November.